Jamiewright
Level 3: Gumshoe

Telstra C6300 port forwarding not working

Hello,

My name is Jamie Wright and I am a software developer as well as a hardware technician.

I recently purchased the Telstra Gateway Max (Netgear C6300) and would like to advise that the port forward, DMZ and UPNP features do not work even though they are present in the modem routers settings.

After hours of trial and error and research I have found that this particular router has bugs and requires a firmware fix in order to allow ports to open. I run a full time business and have a server as well as cameras I need to access externally and need to open ports to be able to get into my internal network.

If you don’t believe that there is a serious issue with this router, here are some links from a simple search result "netgear c6300 port forwarding not working" or "telstra gateway max port forwarding" and you will see there are a lot of other people having this issue. Here are some links:

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Cable-Modems-Routers/C6300-port-forwarding-is-there-a-hard-fix-yet/...

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Cable-Modems-Routers/Port-Forward-Not-Working-C6300-AC1750/td-p/511...

https://crowdsupport.telstra.com.au/t5/Modems-Hardware/Port-Forwarding-Gateway-Max-Cable-Modem/td-p/...

https://crowdsupport.telstra.com.au/t5/Modems-Hardware/Telstra-Gateway-Max-Static-IP-issue/td-p/3435...

I would like to know when this issue will be fixed as this is critical to my business and needs to be resolved because netgear and Telstra are selling modem routers that are broken. 

FYI, I have an old G3100 Telstra modem here that I tried and port forwarding works a treat however I have purposely upgraded to this C6300 for better wireless capabilities and now I’m running into this serious issue. I also tried to set the C6300 in DMZ mode and it doesn’t allow any ports to function through this mode therefore all access to my internal network are blocked.