luke_con
Level 2: Rookie

Telstra Gateway Pro Netgear V7610 - Bridge mode

Hi ! 

I need help in how i set my "Netgear Router V7610" into a "brdige mode".

I have read over about 5 different crowd support post but nothing has worked for me.

Im not sure how to setup the Netgear Telstra router or the TP link load balancer.

With the TG979 router all i had to do is put it in bridge mode and it all work perfect. Which was great!

I dont use any phone lines with the Netgear router.

My setup is 

-TP link TL-R470+ V4 (load balancer)

2 internet connections

- TG797n telstra router (works perfect in bridge mode) - ADSL2 - home account

- Netgear Router V7610 - ADSL2 - telstra business account 

This is my first time posting so not exactly sure on how to do this :-)

Thanks, Luke.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
16 REPLIES 16
Jupiter
Level 25: The Singularity

Re: Telstra Gateway Pro Netgear V7610 - Bridge mode

The simple method would be to turn off the DHCP server on the Netgear.

You let the TP Link act as the DHCP Server for your network.

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.
cf4

Is there a setting for disabling the NAT on the V7610? Also disable Wi-Fi

luke_con

There is only an option for - "secure" or "open" . not to disable.
cf4

Turning of NAT is virtually the same as bridging the modem. The external IP address will be allocated to a device connected to the modems LAN ports. I am not sure if NAT "open" has the same effect. 

luke_con

I have disabled the DHCP on the netgear router. But it didnt help at all. it just didnt register the router/modem any more.

It still has the same ip address of 192.168.15.1 . Do i need to chnage this to be within my network range? like 10.0.0.xxx?

screenshot of settings - https://www.dropbox.com/s/zlshn28hmfp4zwh/Screenshot%202017-04-10%2015.58.15.png?dl=0