Level 1: Cadet

Telstra Smart Modem and D-Link DIR-1960 Mesh Router

Answered

Newbie here, so please don't grill me.
I am thinking of coming over to Telstra NBN and need to know if my D-Link DIR-1960 router will work with the Telstra Smart Modem without the modem having to be in bridge mode, which usually turns off wifi and voip on the modem.
This is the reason I am leaving TPG as their modem router (HG658c) just won't work with the DIR-1960 unless the router is factory reset and not setup, which brings up network security warnings on connected devices. An ethernet cable from the modem router in the living room goes to the home office and is in the WAN port on the DIR-1960.

If I go into the router web page it automatically runs the setup wizard which somehow loses the incoming internet connection to the WAN port. I think this is because the modem is IP 192.168.1.1 and the router is IP 192.168.0.1. It also goes into a loop of asking for a login and throwing me out before any settings can be changed.

The wireless signal strength is brilliant but not much use without internet and it doesn't matter if I give the router a fixed IP or not, it only works again after a factory reset.

If I'm going to have the same problem with the Smart Modem, I will have to find a compatible mesh system, as the modem position in the living room has to transmit through up to 4 block walls to reach the bedrooms and nothing gets through with just the basics and there is no access to the roof space for ethernet cabling.

Sorry this is so long-winded but I want to have everything ready for the changeover.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Level 24: Supreme Being
Accepted Solution

Re: Telstra Smart Modem and D-Link DIR-1960 Mesh Router

Your D-Link should work with the HG658c. Have you tried setting it up with the WAN cable initially? Run the set up wizard and once set up wizard has finished set up for Dynamic IP as per page 48 of the manual then connect WAN cable.

Host name blank