bearkiter
Level 2: Rookie

Odd behaviour on 4G for Ring Camera access

Hi Crowd,

I have a curly one. I'm a network engineer, so bear in mind I've tried EVERY possible solution from the client side.
I just spent the better part of my day trying to solve a remote access issue to our Ring cameras. Everything would work EXCEPT live view from outside our home network. I use Untangle at home, and I even went as far as creating a new VLAN with no filtering and a bunch of bypass policies to try and resolve this.
After hours, I tried on a hunch and switched my S21 Ultra over to the Optus eSIM for data instead of the Telstra SIM.... Instantly everything works fast and smooth. No live view issues from outside the network at all.... Now I'm very curious what Telstra are doing to my 4/5G traffic that breaks the ability to view the cameras. I'm assuming they're blocking some non-standard UDP traffic, or perhaps breaking tunnelling protocols?
Has anyone else experienced similar to this, and is so, was there a Telstra-side issue that could be resolved? I haven't started digging, but it doesn't appear to be a UPNP portmap that's connecting the stream, so I'm assuming it's likely a proxied TLS/SSL connection to Ring servers and over some tunnel back to the live camera feed?
Keen to hear any similar experiences.....

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
36 REPLIES 36
Jupiter
Level 25: The Singularity

Re: Odd behaviour on 4G for Ring Camera access

It could be that your mobile when running on the Telstra network is using IPv6 rather than IPv4/IPv6.

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.
Dave2017
Level 1: Cadet