Services

Services [KB]

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changes to your mobile broadband service

Please note: Our Mobile Broadband Plans have changed.
Find out more about the new Telstra Upfront Data Plan >

 

***************************************

 

What is changing?

We recently sent you a notice confirming that we are going to move your mobile broadband service to one of our current Mobile Data Plans. The details of our Mobile Data Plans are below:

 

Mobile Plan Name

 

Monthly Charge

Non-shared Data Allowance

Contract

Mobile Data Plan Extra Small

$15.00

5GB for use in Australia.

No excess data charges in Australia

Month to month

                                          >  Critical Information Summary

Mobile Data Plan Small

$25.00

10GB for use in Australia.

No excess data charges in Australia

Month to month

                                          >  Critical Information Summary

Mobile Data Plan Medium

$50.00

50GB for use in Australia.

No excess data charges in Australia

Month to month

                                           >  Critical Information Summary

Mobile Data Plan Large

$75.00

100GB for use in Australia.

No excess data charges in Australia

Month to month

                                           >  Critical Information Summary

 

Why are we doing this?

Based on your current plan inclusions we’ve identified that you may benefit from moving to one of our current mobile data plans.

 

What do I need to do?

You don’t need to do anything; your service will automatically be transferred to the new plan after the date stated in your email or letter.

 

If you are unhappy with the plan we have selected for you, you can change to another one of our current plans or cancel your service at any time without plan cancellation fees.

 

How does the plan change affect my service?

Your plan name will change, your monthly charge may change, and you’ll get the new data allowance outlined in your notification. For more information on your new Mobile Data Plan, see here.

 

What other mobile plans do you offer?

For more information on our current mobile data plans, see here or visit your nearest Telstra Store.

 

Important Information:

 

How do I know what plan I’m currently on?

Just check your most recent Telstra bill or My Telstra. The name of the plan will be listed against each service (or mobile number).  Your notification also shows the name of your plan.

 

What are my options if I don’t want to change plans?

You will automatically be migrated to the new plan, but if you don’t like the new plan, you can change plans or cancel your service at any time without plan cancellation fees. If you cancel, you just need to pay for any devices, accessories or services you are still paying off in full on your next bill.  We have other great plans that may suit your needs and help ensure you get the best value.

 

My notification refers to no excess data charges in Australia – what does this mean?

With our new plans, we don’t charge excess data charges if you go over your data allowance in Australia.

 

Instead, if you exceed your included data allowance, your speed will be capped at 1.5Mbps, and slowed further in busy periods. This means it is not suitable for HD video or high speed applications and means that some web pages, videos, social media content and files may take longer to load, but you can still stream video in standard definition, listen to music, browse the web and access social media, even if the experience is slower sometimes. Heavy data users (users in the top 1% of all data users) may experience slower speeds than other users during busy periods. The speeds you actually receive may vary depending on a range of factors including your device, location, number of users and download sources.

 

To learn more see here.

 

You must comply with our FairPlay Policy and not use your service in an unacceptable, unreasonable or fraudulent manner, or in a way that detrimentally interferes with the integrity of, or causes significant congestion to the network. We may take action if you breach the FairPlay Policy, including suspending or cancelling your service.

 

Refer to this link for more information on the Fair Play Policy.

 

What if I don’t want my service to be slowed and would like to pay $10/GB for extra data?

If you would like more full-speed data, you can move up to a plan with a larger data allowance.

 

My notification refers to no lock-in plan – what does this mean?

This means that your new plan is a month-to-month mobile plan with no lock-in. With no lock-in, you can change your plan once a month or cancel your service when you want.

 

If you cancel your service, you will receive a pro rata refund for the remainder of your month’s service charges. If you have any device, accessory or service add-ons attached to your plan, you will have to pay any remaining amount owing for them in full on your next bill.

 

I registered for COVID-19 bonus data before 19 April 2020. Will I still have access to this data (25GB for 30 days)?

If you are within 30 days since bestowal, this data will not be removed when plans are updated. Unused bonus data expires 30 days after bestowal. Please see here for more detail.

Version history
Revision #:
5 of 5
Last update:
March
Updated by:
 

Was this helpful?

  • Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help