Highlighted
Level 1: Cadet

Suspended email account.

Not so much a request for help, more a rant and a warning for others. I'm a retired IT consultant, but I stillI provide IT support to a few small businesses and individuals in a rural town. One of those businesses, a Telstra DOT customer, called me to say their email client was asking for a password. Long story short, without warning or notification their bigpond email address has been "suspended". When I attempted to log in to webmail, I was redirected to a page telling me the account was suspended and that I had to contact Telstra to reactivate it. It give three choices; use the app., online chat or telephone: 1/ Online chat. An AI system that goes around in a loop and then says "download the app." 2/ Telephone. A menu system followed by a message saying no operators are available and I should download the app. 3/ Download the app. OK, installed the app on the customers phone and logged in. The app reports no accounts are linked to the email address (userid). I entered all the details, only to be told firstly that it cannot link because the account is linked to another ID, then a "technical error" has occurred. However the app then allows a chat session to be started. So I go through all the nonsense, the customer provides his D.O.B., driver license etc. etc.. The "tech" eventually decides it's a business account and passes it on to tech 2. The new ("business") tech 2 says the account is no longer suspended. Webmail disagrees!! He then says he'll "reset and upgrade the system" (?!) and I should try again in 4 hours. Hmm. Sounds more like "in 4 hours I'll be off shift and it'll be someone else's problem", but OK. This morning it's still not working, We go through the same nonsense again, but this time the "tech 3" tells me the security details are wrong. The customer is standing next to me, but according to tech 3 he doesn't know his own D.O.B. or license number (?!). The "tech" requests details from the last bi